David Orazietti Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services has said “Our province’s first responders are ready to put their lives on the line every day to protect our communities and keep Ontario safe. These awards recognize the extraordinary acts of courage within our firefighting and law enforcement communities. I salute these heroes on behalf of a grateful province, and hope that they wear these medals with pride.”

Six firefighters and 15 police officers received Ontario’s top honours for bravery last night.The Ontario Medal for Firefighter Bravery and the Ontario Medal for Police Bravery are the province’s highest honours in recognition of firefighters and police officers whose actions demonstrate outstanding courage.This year’s ceremony awarded honours for both 2015 and 2016.

Gravenhurst Fire Department

  • Firefighter Bill Brazeau
  • Firefighter Ryan Brazeau

Halton Hills Fire Department

  • Fire Chief Brent Marshall
  • Deputy Fire Chief Harry Olivieri
  • Assistant Deputy Fire Chief Bruce Morrison

Toronto Fire Services

  • Firefighter Dave Archer

The recipients of the Ontario Medal for Police Bravery are:

Belleville Police Service

  • Constable Daniel Joly
  • Constable Corey McGee

Chatham-Kent Police Service

  • Constable Fraser Curtis

Durham Regional Police Service

  • Detective Constable Bryan Armstrong

Niagara Regional Police Service

  • Constable Chris Lindey

Ontario Provincial Police

  • Provincial Constable William Barber (Prince Edward County Detachment)
  • Provincial Constable Andrew Sloss (Temiskaming Detachment)
  • Provincial Constable Marty Thibault (Temiskaming Detachment)

Owen Sound Police Service

  • Constable Patrick Rawn

Peel Regional Police

  • Constable Kevin Morrison

Toronto Police Service

  • Constable Mark Borsboom
  • Constable Erik Corba
  • Constable Zoran Ivkovic
  • Constable Jean-Marc Loiselle
  • Constable Eric Ka Wai Yu