The Council added 2 Iranian individuals and the Directorate for Internal Security of the Iranian Ministry for Intelligence and Security to the EU terrorist list (measures set down in common position 2001/931/CFSP). These listings have been adopted by the Council as part of its response to recent foiled attacks on the European soil. These sanctions are effective as of today.

The Council also renewed the restrictive measures on those previously listed, following the six-monthly review of the list. The list now covers 15 individuals and 21 groups and entities.

Persons, groups and entities on the list published today are subject to the freezing of their funds and other financial assets. It is also prohibited for EU operators to make funds and economic resources available to them.

The legal acts were adopted by the General Affairs Council of 8 January 2019. They are published in the Official Journal of the European Union of 9 January.

The sanctions regime set down by common position 2001/931/CFSP is separate from the EU regime implementing UN Security Council resolutions 1267 (2011), 1989 (2011) and 2253 (2015 and targeting Al-Qaida and ISIL/Da’esh.

The EU also has a sanction regime which allows the EU to apply sanctions autonomously to ISIL/Da’esh and Al-Qaida and persons and entities associated or supporting them, currently applying to 3 individuals.