Dr Arif Alvi has been elected the 13th President of Pakistan

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s Dr Arif Alvi has been elected the 13th President of Pakistan.
Of the 430 votes cast in the National Assembly and Senate, PTI’s Alvi received 212 votes, JUI-F’s Rehman bagged 131 and PPP’s Ahsan garnered 81; six votes were rejected.

Of the 61 Balochistan Assembly members, 60 cast their votes,PTI’s Alvi secured 45 of these 60 votes, Moulana Fazal ur Rehman bagged 15 votes where as eitaza ehsan could not get any vote.

In Sindh Assembly, PPP’s ahsan garnered 100 votes, Dr Alvi bagged 56, whereas just a solitary vote was cast in the favour of JUI’s Rehman; one vote was wasted.

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, Dr Alvi received 78 of the total 109 votes, while Rehman and Ahsan had 26 and five votes respectively to their names.Arif Alvi of PTI got 186 votes in Punjab Assembly , MMA’s Moulana Fazal ur Rehman bagged 141 votes where as PPP’s candidate ehtaza ehsan got 6 votes.

A joint sitting of the senate and the newly elected national and provincial assemblies.
The voting started at around 10am and ended at 4pm. The na and senate members voted inside the national assembly hall, whereas the mpas did the same in their respective provincial assemblies.

With an hour left in the 4pm voting deadline, Prime Minister Imran Khan arrived at the Parliament House and cast his vote.The Election Commission of Pakistan had barred the members from carrying mobile phones with them at the time of voting.