Scott Morrison is to be Australia’s new Prime Minister after Malcolm Turnbull was forced out by party rivals in a bruising leadership contest.He had been under pressure from poor polling, a looming election, and a revolt by conservative MPs.

Mr Morrison, the current treasurer, won an internal ballot 45-40 over former home affairs minister Peter Dutton.Mr Turnbull did not stand in the leadership contest.

He had been staring down calls for his resignation as leadership speculation crippled his government.He agreed to hold the ballot after a majority of party MPs signed a letter calling for it to take place.

Mr Morrison is a former tourism Australia managing director who has held ministerial portfolios including immigration and social services.Foreign minister Julie Bishop was also in the running for the leadership, but did not make it to the final round.