Imran Khan

PTI Chief Imran Khan elected as 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan. Khan won with 176 seats while his opponent, PML-N’s Shahbaz Sharif, secured 96 votes in the polling that took place in the National Assembly.Pakistan Peoples Party, the second largest party in the opposition, abstained from voting.

As the newly elected speaker of the house announced the results, PML-N leaders started chanting slogans. The speaker tried to restore order in the house. Later, the members one by one went to Imran Khan and congratulated him on his election as the Prime Minister.

Irmran Khan’s oath-taking ceremony will take place tomorrow at 9:00 am at president house. President Mamnoon Hussain will administer the Oath.

The jubilant PTI workers came out in the streets dancing on drum beats to celebrate the election of Imran Khan as leader of the house. The workers and leaders distributed sweets and cut cakes to celebrate the occasion.