George Heyman, Minister of Environment and Climate Change Strategy.

George Heyman, Minister of Environment and Climate Change Strategy has said that “British Columbians are known for their incredible volunteer spirit, and the passion and dedication demonstrated by our 2017 BC Parks volunteer award winners is truly inspiring.Congratulations and thank you for protecting and enhancing the spectacular natural environment that British Columbians cherish in our parks and protected areas.”

Every year, hundreds of groups and individuals donate their time and energy to care for the 1,033 provincial parks and protected areas in British Columbia.

BC Parks values the contributions made by volunteers and recognizes those who go above and beyond through the annual achievement awards.

The winners of the 2017 BC Parks Volunteer Awards are:

  • Individual volunteer – Brian Moorhead
  • Volunteer group – Mitlenatch Island Stewardship Team (MIST)
  • Volunteer legacy –  Konrad and Gerda Feldmann

In 2016–17, more than 2,000 volunteers contributed over 30,000 hours with BC Parks. Volunteers are involved in a wide range of activities, including trail maintenance, facility restoration, campground hosting, ecological reserve wardens, educational and interpretive programs, ecological monitoring and inventories, park management and planning.

Since it takes a community to make parks shine, BC Parks also recognizes the contributions made by community partners and park operators. The recipient for Community Partner of the Year is Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society – B.C. Chapter (CPAWS-BC), and Sandstorm North Contracting is the recipient for Park Operator of the Year.